My life is like a box of chocolates….but why are they all filled with marshmallow?

Hey beautiful people,

Are you feeling awesome today? Like crap today? Come on, you can tell me…just leave it in the comments box and I promise I won’t tell a soul. I’m good that way. How many of you don’t live in a cave and saw the movie Forest Gump? Wow, that many? How many times did you watch it? I saw it at least five times and even own a copy. One of my favorites. Do you know why? Because it is truth in life told through the eyes in the most simplest of ways. I can totally relate to the now famous line about life being like a box of chocolates. Yep, it is true, you never know what you’re going to get. Maybe something super yummy inside, or perhaps empty but still a nice creamy or dark morsel that just melts in your mouth (and maybe even pairs nicely with a nice bottle of red too I must say).

When I wake each morning I grab my thoughts like that box of chocolate and play the what am I gonna get today game? I lay there in my dreamy bliss of thoughts and tell myself that today is totally going to rock. Really, it is. I’m going to get up, get motivated, get dressed and peruse the web while I drink my coffee and maybe or maybe I won’t turn on the news (as lately no news is certainly good news). Kind of the putting my hands over my ears and going la la la I am not listening. If I do turn it on it is mostly for the weather because anything else happening I would see in my web surfing and we know how true all of that information is, right?

So here I have my box of chocolate thoughts, I reach in and grab what I think may have nuts in it. I looooove nuts…I carry my piece of chocolate into the day and bite into it….blah, marshmallow. I hate marshmallow in chocolate (unless it comes with a campfire and a flaming marshmallow with graham crackers and then I can only manage one or two). Why marshmallow? Is that all there is in this damn box?

There has got to be something more. Now if I were a kid I would eat them all to find just what I was looking for and then when the stomach ache hit, would use the box as a fort and crawl into it to vomit, but I am not a kid any longer so I can’t. But, with a thought of wonder, I can pretend that there is something in there that I want. Maybe it is Belgian chocolate filled with dainty hazelnuts. Maybe it is creamy swiss milk chocolate. Maybe its a truffle (and not the ones dug up by the piggies). Mmmmm…..I close my eyes and just taste the explosion of wonder in my mouth. WOW. Now that is more than I expected….that is just a “I could die right now and be happy” kind of moment. .

Now I know you’re thinking to yourself, what the hell is she thinking? What does this have to do with life? Does she really love chocolate that much that she thinks her views should be shared? Well, yeah, I do like chocolate (in moderation) and Yes, I need to tell you this. Life IS the box of chocolates. You NEVER know what you’re going to get. But you can use your mind to get what you want. If you want to wake up happy and have a pleasant day, well you reach your little mitts right into that big old box and grab that piece of happy chocolate. If you are cranky and don’t care who knows about your mood and you want to unleash havoc so that everyone else around you can share in your misery, well there is a chocolate for that too. But it is your choice. I may start out alot of mornings with the marshmallow filled nasties but you know what, that’s ok. It is my box of chocolate. It is my choice. And then I take a bite out of that nasty marshmallow ick and put it back in the box, that way no one else will want that one. I spit out my piece with lady like dignity and throw it away and say NO. This will not do. If I can’t find the right chocolate there is always something else to choose. Maybe it is cheese, or cake, or wine….heck, it can be whatever floats your boat, as long as you are making the attempt to pick the right piece (the right thought). The piece that makes you smile. That piece that makes you feel so warm and fuzzy inside. The one you want to share with the world because it is THAT good. Yeah, reach in and find that piece. Look it over. Notice how perfect and glossy it is. Taste it, and can you feel that warm “coat your tongue with words that flow like a masterpiece” feeling? Now share it with someone. Smile at the world at your bounty of amazing confections. Caring is sharing.

Now if you are really set on just a sub-par kind of piece, well that is ok too. Maybe you bite in and find a too sugary gooey cherry. It will be like Goldi-locks and the three bears, one may be too big, one too small but somewhere in there you WILL find the one that is just right. And you will know it to your very core. You will want an entire box of endless supplied chocolate just like that one. But someday you may find it isn’t enough any more and you will dig deeper and you will find new flavors (thoughts). Flavors that haven’t even been invented yet (kind of like the chocolate covered bacon….i still ask why on that one) but you will keep setting your bar higher. You will strive from the cheap gold coin penny chocolate to the the top of the line foreign awesomeness and do you know why? Because you are good enough for the most expensive, tasty, “oh my God” this is like an orgasm chocolate thought.  You will want to tell the world about your find. You will want to share this amazingness with everyone you hold dear.

You will. It will happen. Because you may not always know what you’re going to get, but you can always get what you want when you make it happen. Thoughts become things my friends. Do you want cheap chocolate thoughts or do you want the masterpiece of a confectioner that is you? Start your day with your own box of chocolate thoughts. Pull one out and ask yourself, “is this how I want this day to start?” and if not, toss it away and grab another one. Keep digging even if you reach China because it is in there somewhere, that right thought that will start your day. Carry it in your mind pocket and if it starts to melt, stop by the happines store and pick up another one. After all, the supply IS endless and you will find at the end of the day you’re eager to see what you will pick tomorrow. You will know what you’re going to get after awhile because it will all be good. The yucky flavors will no longer populate that box because you bought what you wanted and more keeps showing up and it will be the awesome flavors of amazing thoughts. Heck, maybe after awhile you will wonder what all the fuss was about when that evil marshmallow one had shown up so long ago. No one invited him to the chocolate party….damn thought crasher…..I guess that’s why we so rudely closed the box on him (after we took a bite and made that I just bit into a grapefruit sour puss face). There is no room for the flavors (thoughts) you don’t want. Open the box to the good and the abundant supply will never diminish. Now isn’t that an amazing thought? A bottomless chocolate box. Hmmmm, who’da thunk?

image

Leave a Reply

